Your browser is no longer supported. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Kneehigh with Liverpool Everyman & Playhouse

A NEW BEGGAR’S OPERA

What the hell is the world coming to?

Mayor Goodman has been assassinated. And so has his dog. Contract killer Macheath has just married Pretty Polly Peachum and Mr and Mrs Peachum aren’t happy. Not one bit.

Based on the Beggar’s Opera, John Gay’s classic musical satire, Dead Dog in a Suitcase (and other love songs) is busting with wit, wonder and weirdness. Kneehigh’s extraordinary cast of actor musicians shoot, hoot and shimmy their way through this twisted morality tale for our times.

This is now, this is it!
The world is poor and man’s a shit!
The game is rigged, nothing’s truer!
Death’s a joke and life a sewer!


Presented by Kneehigh with Liverpool Everyman & Playhouse

Book Tickets

Thu 02 May 2019 - Sat 04 May 2019
Nuffield Southampton City
Wed 08 May 2019 - Sat 11 May 2019
Brighton Festival
Tue 14 May 2019 - Sat 18 May 2019
Oxford Playhouse
Tue 21 May 2019 - Sat 15 June 2019
The Lyric Hammersmith
Tue 18 June 2019 - Sat 22 June 2019
Exeter Northcott
Tue 25 June 2019 - Sat 29 June 2019
Everyman Theatre, Cheltenham
Tue 02 July 2019 - Sat 13 July 2019
Bristol Old Vic
Tue 16 July 2019 – Sat 20 July 2019
Galway International Arts Festival

A riot... Would I go and see this again? Like a shot.

THE TIMES

A stunning explosion of theatrical pyrotechnics

The Morning Star

Madcap mastery and jukebox hijinks...Bright, bold and timeless

THE GUARDIAN

fiendishly clever...a constant barrage of visual, theatrical and musical surprises

THE STAGE