The Flying Lovers of Vitebsk

"A visual gem"  The Stage 

"Gloriously romantic"  The Times

"An unforgettable flight of imagination"  Jewish Renaissance Magazine

Winner of the Carol Tambor Best of Edinburgh Award 2017

 

Kneehigh and Bristol Old Vic

The Flying Lovers of Vitebsk

Written by Daniel Jamieson

Directed by Emma Rice

 

Perhaps you’ve seen them floating over a Russian village?
Or perhaps you’ve seen her toppling forward, arms full of wild flowers,
as he arches above her head and steals a kiss?

 

Meet Marc and Bella Chagall! The Flying Lovers of Vitebsk! Partners in life and on canvas, Marc and Bella are immortalised as the picture of romance. But whilst on canvas they flew, in life they walked through some of the most devastating times in history.

Daniel Jamieson's The Flying Lovers of Vitebsk traces this young couple as they navigate the Pogroms, the Russian Revolution, and each other. Emma Rice's final production as Kneehigh's Artistic Director is drawn in a theatrical language as fluid as Chagall's paintings, and woven throughout with music and dance inspired by the Russian Jewish tradition.    

 

Perhaps you’ve glimpsed her rising like a kite, anchored to the earth only by his triumphant hand?
They are holding on to hope, to history and to each other.

 

Book Tickets

Wed 17 January 2018 - Sat 10 February 2018 Wilton's Music Hall, London Book Now
Fri 23 February 2018 - Sun 11 March 2018 The Wallis Annenberg Center, Beverly Hills Book Now
Tue 20 March 2018 - Sat 24 March 2018 West Yorkshire Playhouse Book Now
Tue 27 March 2018 - Sat 31 March 2018 Salisbury Playhouse Book Now
Tue 03 April 2018 - Sat 07 April 2018 HOME, Manchester Book Now
Tue 10 April 2018 - Sat 14 April 2018 Exeter Northcott Book Now
Tue 17 April 2018 - Sat 21 April 2018 Oxford Playhouse Book Now
Tue 01 May 2018 - Sat 05 May 2018 Cheltenham Everyman Book Now

Related News

It's 2016 and we've got some exciting news!

It's 2016 and we've got some exciting news!

Last year, we announced the exciting news that Emma Rice was to become the Artistic Director of Shakespeare’s Globe in April 2016 and that Mike Shepherd would be Kneehigh's sole Artistic Director. Now the New Year is here, and Emma’s first season at The Globe has been announced; including two Kneehigh shows as part of our new status as Associate Company there.

Read More

Reviews

The Guardian

The Guardian

"Rice delivers a parting love letter to Kneehigh and its audiences" ★★★★

Read More

Credits

Marc Chagall   Marc Antolin
Bella Chagall   Daisy Maywood
Musicians   Ian Ross & James Gow
Director   Emma Rice
Writer   Daniel Jamieson
Composer and Music Director   Ian Ross
Designer   Sophia Clist
Lighting Designer   Malcolm Rippeth
Sound Designer   Simon Baker
Choreography   Emma Rice & Etta Murfitt
Associate Lighting Designer   Victoria Brennan
Assistant Director   Matt Harrisson

Your Comments